What A Week

It’s been quite a week! The boys, my mom, and I took the train to San Diego to visit my sister and my niece. It had been way too long. But, I still needed to get my miles in, so I packed my running shoes!

The train ride was great and the boys were thrilled with the fact that they could get up and walk around. They took full advantage of it, too.

20130628-090133.jpg

I took a rest day Saturday, because that was our travel day.

Sunday I woke up and took full advantage of the fact that my mom was with me and ran 6 miles along the water. It was beautiful and I was able scout out places to go before everyone was awake. I’m sure you’ve heard it before, but it’s true, running in a new place is a great way to explore and find cool things to do.

20130628-090234.jpg

20130628-090246.jpg ok, they’re not pirate ships, but when you have boys they are!

Monday was a travel day so no running. I would have loved to take one last run along the water, though. Sigh.

Tuesday I was back at home and had to get back into the routine. I was supposed to run 6 miles, but I just didn’t have it in me. I don’t know, maybe I am just getting up there and can’t bounce back into the normal routine like I used to. Anyway, I only had 2.5 miles in me. I just have to remind myself to not stress about the numbers and listen to my body. It was tired!!

Wednesday was a little better. I went to the gym and ran 4 miles. I slept in a little, very little. When you’ve got a little one that likes to get up with the sun, but doesn’t like to be alone, it really cuts into your sleep time. I’ve got to start going to bed earlier.

Thursday I did it! I ran the 7 miles that was on the books (yeah, I have books)! Ok, I mostly ran. I did not follow my previous rules and went out at 7, even though it was supposed to be in the mid 90s, and wore black capris. I don’t know what to say; I don’t like rules. But, I did it. Next!

20130628-123507.jpg

Today, Friday is Nike Training Club. I figure I can get some rest, do some grocery shopping, then do my workout out (indoors) when the baby takes his nap. We’ll see how the rest of the week goes. I am supposed to have a 9 mile long run, but it is also supposed to be in the 100s this weekend. That info, along with the fact that the hubs will be super busy (people kind of really want ice when it get super hot. Go figure) it is going to be tough to fit those 9 miles in. Hmmmm, 9 miles on the treadmill = yuck!

20130628-123259.jpg

Speaking of grocery shopping: have you heard of the app, Fooducate? It is awesome! Not only will it help you track and journal food, exercise, and points (if you do Weight Watchers), but it will scan food at the supermarket to let you know if you are making a healthy choice. It gives every item a grade and some basic info, like if it has a lot of salt or sugar and if it is made with GMOs or food dyes. I have really changed what I buy based on the information I’ve gotten. It really is helpful in making decisions at the store. They also have similar apps if you have food allergies or diabetes. And it’s free! Use it, it’s awesome!!

Have a great weekend and a safe Fourth of July! Good luck!

This entry was posted in exercise, healthyliving, Running, shopping, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

