I’m Baaaaaack!

On Monday my training officially started back up. It hasn’t t been easy.

Monday I ran 3 miles. It wasn’t too bad, but it was hot and the black capris I was wearing were doing me no favors. I was so hot that I swore I would not wear black the rest of the summer.

Tuesday I ran 4 miles in my non-black Lulu Lemon running skirt. That was much better, but still hot. I swore to myself that I would bring water on all my runs and not run outside after 7 AM. Summer in SoCal is here, my friends.

Wednesday is a rest day. Thank goodness because I have really slacked on my fitness and it showed up big time. Those two runs were tough. I had to walk and take a few breaks, but that’s ok, it’s all part of the journey. Plus, I am learning, you have to get acclimatized to running in warmer weather. I still have a lot to learn.

Thursday was 5 miles! I felt much better (although I only ran 4.5). I started my run going the opposite way I usually go so I went up the incline for the first half, obviously this was tough. Then, my second half was a mood booster because it felt so good to have gravity working on your side! Plus, I learned my lesson and left early and found the shady trail. Adds up to a great run. Finally!

Friday = 4 miles. I did all four. Whew! I had to go to the gym, but that’s ok. Except this is the one day that the baby decides he is not going to let me out of his sight. So, I did what any good mom would do…kissed him, handed him to the girl and ran out the door. He was fine. I know this because they didn’t call me over the intercom. Sigh, the road bumps of trying to exercise with kids.

It has been a rough start, but that’s ok because I started. Now it’s on to my road train trip with the kids and my mom to San Diego to visit my sister. We are all so excited! I am really looking forward to getting some miles in around downtown. It should be beautiful with amazing weather. I know, I have a problem.

More to come on all that! In the meantime;

20130621-133005.jpg

Have a great weekend! And good luck to everyone enjoying the first official day of summer!

What are your weekend plans?
Do you plan exercise when you are on vacation?

This entry was posted in exercise, healthyliving, Running and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

