Try It Out Tuesday-Almond Milk

I was so excited to try to make my own almond milk! I had so many ideas that I could do with it. But, alas, it was not meant to be. Insert sad face here.

Actually, it started out really good. I got the idea from The Kitchn and it looked so easy, creamy, and delicious!

So, I soaked my almonds for 2 days (they looked super gross, so I will spare the pics). Rinsed them off, put them in a blender for 2 minutes

20130604-115024.jpg

Strained the mixture

20130604-115107.jpg this took a little muscle.

Then, I was left with the milk

20130604-115205.jpg

I took a sip and it was delish. But, I had other plans for it (like chia pudding), so I put it away.

20130604-115338.jpg

In the recipe, she had said that it does not keep well so only make enough that you would need. Woa, she was not kidding. Later in the day I took a sip because I was going to put it some cereal (I like cereal for a snack. What?)
Yuck! Maybe I’ve only tasted sweetened almond milk, but this stuff tasted awful. It was much, much better when I had just made it.

My recommendation would be to ONLY make enough for what you would need right away and use it. I would definitely sweeten it with something.

I think I need to ask an expert about what went wrong and, luckily, I know an expert almond milk maker. I’ll ask the sis-in-law (she makes it all the time) and see what happened. Maybe it was storage? Dunno.

This is something I would like to try again since I don’t use a ton of almond milk. We’ll see what happens next time.
Maybe more good luck?

I forgot! There was an added bonus: almond meal!

20130604-121455.jpg
I let it dry out and put it in my super adaptable lemon chia protein bars.

QUESTION OF THE DAY
Anyone trying out some summer recipes?
I really need to do this. it’s that time, for sure-especially here in So Cal!

This entry was posted in Food, healthyliving, recipe, try it out tuesday and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

