Try It Out Tuesday – Coconut Chews

Its Tuesday! time to try something new. how about some healthy coconut cookies?

These cookies are coco-nutty, chewy, goodness! The original title from Chocolate Covered Katie is Coconut Crack Bars, but I changed a few things and they are no longer bars, but they are still addictive and full of coconut!

I first saw the recipe on Pinterest (where else?) and they looked like something I had to have. Plus, they were easy and came from a healthy dessert blogger. All wins.

20130528-153011.jpg so I gathered the ingredients. Yep, that’s all.

She used a food processor, but all I have is a mini, so I thought I would try it without. It was still easy and delicious, but they didn’t stay together like bars, so I ended up rolling them into balls. And I added chocolate chips.

20130528-153351.jpg

They were sooooo good! But, I thought they needed a little something more. Graham cracker crust!

20130528-153543.jpg

Coconut Crack Bars

Makes 6-8 bars

1 cup shredded coconut (unsweetened) (80g)
1/4 cup agave or pure maple syrup (or 1/4 cup water and 2-3 nunaturals stevia packs)
2 tbsp virgin coconut oil (See nutrition info link below, for all substitution notes on this recipe.)
1/2 tsp pure vanilla extract
1/8 tsp salt
Combine all ingredients in a food processor. (Perhaps you can mix by hand if you don’t have a food processor, but I haven’t tried.) Squish into any small container (I used a 7×5) and fridge for an hour before trying to cut. (Or freeze for 15 minutes.) Can be stored in the fridge or freezer, for at least a few weeks.

I found this recipe to be totally adaptable. I already have tons of ideas for add-ins. I can’t wait to try them all out.

20130528-154603.jpg

Mmmmm, go try something new today! Good luck!

Is anyone else shocked its Tuesday?

How was the long weekend?

This entry was posted in recipe, try it out tuesday and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

