Snack Attack

I tend to go between convenience and DIY when it comes to meals and snacks. Right now I’m on a DIY kick, probably because of my weight loss stall plateau. I have found a couple amazing recipes that makes the switch to DIY snack bars and protein bars E-A-S-Y.

The protein bars are super delish and are really easily adaptable.

20130503-180727.jpg
I got the original recipe from misfitrunner, an a amazing running mama and clean eater. Anyhoo, I tweaked it a bit with what I had on hand and they were fabulous.
Lemon Chia Protein Bars
8 oz dates run through a food processor
2 scoops vanilla protein powder
1 cup almonds run through a food processor
2 Tbsp coconut oil, melted (I love coconut oil to replace butter, even on toast)
1 tsp lemon extract (I used vanilla extract instead)
1/3 cup shredded coconut (I used old fashioned oats. It’s what I had on hand)
2 Tbsp Chia seeds
2-3 Tbsp agave nectar
Combine vanilla powder, coconut, chia seeds, and almonds. Mix in coconut oil, lemon extract, and agave (I would start with 1 Tbsp of agave and add some if you think it needs the sweetness). Mixture will be lumpy.
Add the mixture to the dates and mix. It will be much easier with your hands.
Roll into balls or press into an 8×8 pan lined with wax paper.
Refrigerate for a couple of hours. Cut and enjoy.
I keep them in the refrigerator, probably because it’s so hot around here and I prefer my bars firm. I think these would also be scrumptious with chocolate protein powder.

Chocolate Coconut Chew Bars

20130503-201122.jpg
I got this one from Roxana’s Home Baking.
It is ridiculously easy and super delicious. Even my boys loved it so it’s a win-win situation. Last bonus; it only has 5 ingredients. No sugar, eggs, flour, or dairy.

I’m on my way to eliminating processed foods at home. Good luck!

Anyone discover easy, healthy snack recipes?

Are you trying to eliminate or reduce processed foods? How’s it going?

This entry was posted in healthyliving, recipe, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Snack Attack

  1. Oh I love raw no bake recipes they are the best, especially since the weather is getting so hot for baking.

  2. Pingback: Try It Out Tuesday-Almond Milk | goodluckmama

Leave a Reply

