Ready For San Francisco. Sort Of.

It’s amazing what happens to a group of people with a purpose. I am relatively new to running and racing (in July it will be a year that I started running), but the closeness of this community is amazing. Even though running is a solitary sport everyone shares the same goal of crossing the finish line. It is a unique sport in that, anyone can compete. All you have to do is put in the work. It’s an amazing community and I am so proud to finally be a part of it.

Now runners are more united than ever. When you mess with an institution like the Boston Marathon…you know you’re not getting away with it.
It has been so amazing and heart warming to see the community come together to support each other and those that cheer them on. Run on!

That being said I am not going to let ANYONE mess with my races.
I am getting ready to leave for the Presidio 10 Mile tomorrow in San Francisco. I so wish that BIC Bands had their “Boston Strong” hair band ready so I could order and wear it, but just running is saying something. Since I am taking this trip solo I have to get the kids ready for their weekend. Since the Hubs’ business is usually busy on the weekend we had to juggle where the boys would go and who would get them to practices and games, whew! I might just have time to pack for myself. Hopefully I remember everything I need for this race.
I’m kind of nervous for this race because a) it’s my first out of town race, and b) my last 2 attempts at 10 miles have ended horribly. I’m not exaggerating.
I can’t wait to get away, but at the same time I wish my family was able to come with me. I love having them there to meet me at the finish line. I will be consoled by my sister and the city of San Francisco. Maybe also a couple of beers. I think the Hubs might be a little afraid that I might never come back. I will. Someday.
I know my sister has some fun things planned and I am looking forward to a great weekend with great food. I’ll be sure to let you all know how I do on the race. Gulp! The good news is; I will have a PR! How can I not since this is my first 10 mile race.
Good luck needed, for sure.

Anyone racing this weekend?

Are you wearing yellow and blue for Boston?

This entry was posted in children, exercise, Running, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

