Running Skirt FAIL!

I love running skirts. They are adorable and a great alternative to shorts, which I am not a huge fan of. BUT, I have not found a running skirt that I like (not from lack of trying, though). It was a gorgeous, warm day so I thought I would break out a running skirt.

I am starting to figure out that there is a huge difference between running skirts and athletic skirts. I am learning the hard way. I set out for a 4.5 mile run, but had to cut it short. Because of the running skirt malfunction. The shorts would not stay down and my running became very awkward. It’s really hard to run with a wedge of fabric high up where it should not be and your thighs rubbing together so there’s about to be a fire!

20130304-194054.jpg

I figured I would stop and save it up to be comfortable for my long run tomorrow. Good idea.

The rest of the day was spent with the boys and the hubs. We took them to see The Croods and it was a ton of fun. Luckily, the baby fell asleep right as the movie started and woke up right as it was ending. Hopefully the people around us didn’t mind his snoring too much. It was a cute movie and I totally recommend it. Of course, there was the obligatory teary eyed ending, but I liked it and I think the boys did too.

THE LONG RUN

This is exciting, not only because I ran 9 miles, but because I ran it in a skirt!!! Woo hoo!

I didn’t give up my dream of letting my white legs see the sun and tried my Asics skirt that has a rubber-like band lining the inside of the shorts underneath the skirt. It kept the shorts down and VERY comfortable during those 9 miles. The going got tough, but I also wore my hydration belt and brought some Clif chews. It’s not my favorite to wear the belt, but it’s a must. And the fuel is SUPER important because I could feel myself slowing down, and when I did I took a few chews and the carb/sugar rush really helped. I was never a real believer until that run when I could actually feel the pick-me-up. Weird, but true.

This weekend I’m running 10.5 miles (as long as I can figure out what to do with the kiddos) and next weekend is my Presidio 10 Miler in San Francisco (so excited!!). Until then, I’ll keep up with the Nike training program (my new love) and cart the kids to school, baseball, and all other activities.

I’m crossing my fingers that I can stick with my training schedule this week. It will take a load of good luck!

Have you ever had to cut a work out short because of what your outfit?

What’s a great Spring activity that you are looking forward to?

This entry was posted in healthyliving, Running, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

