I Never Could Have Imagined Calling Myself A Runner

You know how when you join a gym they offer a free fitness evaluation? Well, I was curious as to what my fitness level is now so I agreed. Whew! That guy put me through such a workout that I almost passed out. Seriously? I can run 8 miles, but I can’t get through 2 circuits of body weight training? That just means that I have to push myself and do more weight training. Ugh!

Then, on Saturday, I went on my long run, 8 miles, yo! My longest run yet!! A year ago I had myself convinced that I wasn’t a runner, and now look at me! I am so impressed with myself! I’m on my way to my half marathon goal.

20130211-141329.jpg

The beginning of my run. Love my sparkly minnie BIC band. They are the best. You should pick one (or many) up. They are from So Cal and give $1 back on every band sold. Yay!

20130211-141448.jpg

My Nike+ Sportswatch at the end. I thought I would spare you the picture of me. Although, I felt great. Why do I think that’s so weird? Probably because I’m still in the mindset that I can’t believe I’m a runner. Seriously, if I can do anyone can.

I did put my ProCompression marathon socks on for recovery. I think that helped, but I was super sore on Sunday from the weight training session.

20130211-204121.jpgI love hot pink! These are great, but I always wait until they are on sale.

Adventures at Trader Joe’s

It’s no secret how much I love this store. It is a great place to be able to shop for healthy food for my family and stay within our budget. At our weekly Trader Joe shopping trip there were a couple of new products that I found! It’s amazing that I can still find new things here!

20130211-204239.jpgCoconut Strip, not a favorite around here. Sad face.

20130211-204702.jpg Roasted coconut chips are WONDERFUL! Don’t just get one bag, though. Plus, they are great in energy balls. Another great recovery snack. The recipes are all over Pinterest.

20130211-210242.jpgThe deep dish pizza was pretty good too.  I love shopping at a place where they feed the kids!

Here’s to a crazy week that will have me saying, “Good luck, Mama!”

This entry was posted in Running, Trader Joe's and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

